top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLero

Who Do You Think You Are?

This statement can be taken as violent but I promise I am being nice.


Actually take it as you will and check yourself x


Ever heard of the statement “It’s in you not on you?” Tink abourittttt


Recently I was seeing clips of the Tennis US Open championship and side note: Such a great, new, and interesting set of tennis faces by the way, from Coco Gauff and Taylor Townsend to Carlos Alcaraz, Ben Shelton and Frances Tiafoe. Honestly I didn’t love tennis that much but I might have to start watching seriously. The personality, vibes, teamwork, and playfulness LOVED it! Anyways I digress….because this is part of something I wanted to touch on.


Coco. Flipping. Gauff.


Who the heck does she think she is??? Oh right THAT girl.


I’ve followed Coco’s story for some years and it’s great to see where she is at right now. Women’s champion of the US Open at the age of 19, chai I’ve got to do better LOL! What was Alero doing at 19?


Good question, next question!


A few years ago a lot of buzz was circling around Coco because she was a young talented up-and-comer, being compared to a young Serena and Venus and rightfully so because look at the growth and progression today!


That brings me back to the point who do you think you are? Seriously who are YOU!


Take away the titles, accolades, qualifications, the fits, the graduate salary, the buss down 28inch jet black middle part or swooped to the side undetectable HD lace frontal wig…LOOOOOL let me stop because I’m veering off now.


Take that all away and what do we have? Little Bill.


Okay I’m actually done pls.


The REAL point I’m trying to make is that who are you without the material possessions you’ve gained along the way? Are you still the same person or are you a shell of yourself if it’s all gone tomorrow?


I’ve known people who have all these things and are still miserable and fake. On the outside they’re a fantastic person well loved and liked but my God behind closed doors, the kind of things they speak about others, you wouldn’t believe but all that glitters isn’t gold! Sky high egos, opportunistic tendencies and money make the worst combination when it comes to the true character of a person.


What I love about Coco is that despite the setbacks she has had, and the terrible haters that undermined her she still stays graceful and is honestly a class act even with the kind of money she has gained she maintains a healthy sense of love and respect for herself.


Her speech really was the icing on the cake. In her words she says:


“A month ago I won a 500 title and people said I would stop at that.


Two weeks ago I won a 1000 title and people were saying that was the biggest title I would get.


Three weeks later I’m here with this trophy right now. I tried my best to carry this with grace but honestly to those who thought you were putting water on my fire, you were really adding gas to it and now I’m burning so bright right now”


GBAS GBOS. What a class act!


I’m not saying with all the nice things that have you should behave like one humble gateman that hangs his head low and can’t look people in the eye NO.


What I’m saying is regardless of what people have to say about you, your talent, your accolades (or you wig). Keep your good character in check or if your character needs to be worked on, do the damn work! Because eventually you will reveal who you truly are, and whoever that is make sure it’s someone you can be proud to shout about in front of people and behind closed doors.


Lots of love


Lero x






47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2023 was JOB SZNN: Rolling With The Punches

By Job I’m talking about Job in the Bible not an actual Job (Mary this one’s for you 🤣🤣🤣). THE LEVEL OF WITCHCRAFT THIS I HAVE ENDURED THIS YEAR HAS BEEN CRAZYYYYY BUT WE MOVE! ROC NATIONNNNNNNNNN*

People Can CHANGE! 🦋🩵

You may not like the packaging but you WILL take this present. Get accustomed! Something I’m learning on this journey of life as I grow and develop for my own self and for other people is that people

Check Your Akkant 🤣🤣🤣 Work Hard in This Life!

Hm. If you see me on road just squeeze £10k into my pockettttt pls n thanks 🙏🏾🤣 Contrary to popular belief, I did not grow up rich. In fact, not comfortable either, more like uncomfortable at times

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page